– seen and unsaid –

 Seen and unsaid…
seen and unsaid – the
several sights that made me weep
right beneath my eyes.
Straight to my head…
straight to my head – the
several sights that made me keep
telling myself lies: “I

didn’t see that dang’rous man
threaten that poor girl.””I

didn’t see that stranger convul-
sing in my poor world…”

Seen and unsaid…
seen and unsaid – the
several sights that made me weep
right beneath my eyes.

Seen and unsaid…
seen and unsaid – the
madder moments that I’ve kept
under my cold breath.
Scared and undead…
scared and undead – they
took the cherished childish life I
thought that I had left. Whe-

ther it was a deceased duck
by the train station, or

wearing a U.S. flag shirt that
has some neighbors hatin’ –

seen and unsaid…
seen and unsaid – the
several sights that made me weep
right beneath my eyes.

D.J. Whisenant

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “– seen and unsaid –

Leave a Reply

