– mirror in the morning –

‘Give me new habits,’ I
say to my reflection.
‘Drill in me new lessons;
instill in me new skill.’
‘Make me even madder,’
I say to my reflection.
‘Shock me with real wisdom,
disturbing in the thrill.’

Then. one. morning – per-
haps your image before me
just might be more worthy of its
God-given frame, and
with. out. warning – per-
haps your image I do see
just might make history with its
God-given name.

D.J. Whisenant

One thought on “– mirror in the morning –

Leave a Reply

