– anchorage –

Quittin’ time – wrapping up already. Feel like
all these damn Yankees don’t even comprehend me. Is a
year too soon? Is it fashion’bly late? More
time, more tests the longer I wait.

Can you believe it? I caught myself looking
up the cost of living way out in Alaska.
Maybe the chill will set my self straight,
a million sweaters so I’m fashion’bly late.

Quittin’ time – shutting down softly. Thought I
made some good investments; still the shit is costly. Am I
dramatic now? Am I nerveless underneath? Less
faith, less focus with my nervous, cold feet.

Can you believe it? I caught myself looking
up the cost of living way out in Alaska.
Maybe the chill will set my self straight,
a million sweaters so I’m fashion’bly late.
Can you believe it? I found myself planning
two month notices and farewell to Jacob.
Perhaps the cold will reignite the heat –
one pair of snowshoes on my nervous, cold feet.

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

