– right the wrong –

Child… was I weak? My
mouth dared not speak, and
when it did, it was always the wrong words,
always the wrong rhymes.
Child… was I sad? My
eyes glowed so mad. That’s
how I lived, all the voices that I heard,
always at the wrong time.

I’m a little more wiser now…
with a little more virtue.
Heed verses that are kinder now…
for I know that I hurt you.

Child… am I fine, my
luggage left behind? This
weight I throw, for now I know,
which words are right.

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

