– challenging times –

Hey
best friend, you know my story, from
Yarab to Daniel to Elliott’s glory. Yes
best friend, you want the best, some
union of souls that you can bless. Is
that why you challenged me, dutifully,
to date and/or mate beautifully?
Good thing there’s no deadline; my black
ass in the dash is lagging behind.

These are hard times,
but when are they not?
Feels like war time,
here in Salem’s Lot, so
why let crushes suck me dry, when the
truth is I don’t even try. Still,
best friend, let me take my time, let me
take my time, let me take it.

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

