– into the flame –

The day I left Ohio, my
mother took a break to cry,
then I surely rolled my eye right
at her motherly way.
Mamma Bear, don’t you know your
baby was born to burn?
This I have most surely learned, your
baby was born to burn.

Let this ink spill o’er my hands;
let it char my palms, ev’ry
inch from end to where it began; no
tear can cure the calm. Then
let my words rise from all ashes,
flying over greater masses.
That’s when they will learn – this
baby was born to burn.

D.J. Whisenant

4 thoughts on “– into the flame –

Leave a Reply

