– after 40 –

How I wish, I wish, I wish I
didn’t see this far ahead.
How I wish, I wish, I wish I
could not ask to stay undead. My
vision may be weak, just
like the way I speak, but
is this a peek… of
life after 40?
How I wish, I wish, I wish I
didn’t view my epic made
and a kiss, a kiss, a kiss from
my beloved every day. My
sense just isn’t strong, like
how I move along, but
is this a peek… of
life after 40? No

fortune told, no foolish gold, just
faith I know, last ounce of hope, but it’s
such a long, winding road, even
though I can’t walk alone.
Can I handle the hurt?
Do I even have a choice?
I wish, I wish, I wish I
could take away this great noise.

D.J. Whisenant

2 thoughts on “– after 40 –

Leave a Reply

