– my brother’s wedding –

Strangers in white…

at the edge of the year…

catch me in spirit…

if my body’s not here.

Was it a great night, sewn from a grand day?

Plucking petals from ev’ry bouquet…

a toast to the newlyweds on this

wedding day.

Papa don’t preach…

at the edge of the night…

no phone to hear it…

out of mind without sight.

Is she a great girl, or should I say dame?

Made of silk in the dress that was made…

a toast to the newlyweds on this

wedding day.

~

Drink for the new life you’ve already won,

Bonnie and Clyde with all your smoking guns.

Sip for the new road you two will tread hard,

Jay-Z and Queen Bey with each 16 bars.

Drink for my brother whom I used to know,

letting cards fall some two years ago.

Please get me drunk… please get me wasted; the

bond of  matrimony I swear I can’t face it! These…

strangers in white…

at the edge of the year…

gold bands, you wear it…

so strong and sincere.

Was it a great night, sewn from a grand day?

Uninvited in some type of way…

a toast to the newlyweds on this

wedding day.

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

2 thoughts on “– my brother’s wedding –

Leave a Reply

