– an epistle to hudson paper company –

There is good on these grounds, I cannot dispute,

and there is good in my letter to you.

I take these words with a fever so mad,

to give thanks to the employment I’ve had.

~

You could have taken in another pup,

in the autumn crunch with so-so luck.

Still, it was I, the riskiest choice,

no yipping or yapping of past retail voice.

~

Daunting was this darling store I saw,

bags and boxes and items so raw.

A hundred tasks to learn and to keep,

the chores that would make grand slackers weep.

~

I believe training kicked in somewhere

when bad feelings were left up in the air.

Fed-up employees of seasons past

knowingly left me up to the great task.

~

It is the sweetest lesson in each fail,

and in the way you helped me prevail,

that I can leave here today with pride,

for I made any sour fear subside.

~

Getting you through the summer and fall,

you forced me to stand straight and tall.

Teaching good business and customer skills,

I utilize weapons for ev’ry good kill.

~

You will not be forgotten, ignored,

a 2:00 a.m. text when I am too bored.

You saved my body, my bone, my soul,

in the best last-minute save ever told.

~

Thank you will never be the greatest word,

for the best outlet store on the earth.

There is good on these grounds, I cannot dispute,

and there is good in my letter to you.

~
~

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

