– california ice cold –

Wind snap, two times for the birds, the

greatest shock in Cali so far I’ve heard.

Spring fling must’ve died without a clue,

no blossoms in my front or rear view.

It’s just a splash of intrigue when 

surf and sand chill under my feet.

It’s just a splash of intrigue when

it’s your warmth I cannot meet.

~

I wished, I truly did not

want these words to be about

how SoCal grows colder when

you’re the one who’s not around.

Can you feel me frozen?

No, of course you can’t.

Wind whip my back, but I guess it’s like that when

cold air leaves the city plain.

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

